• Home
  • Geography home
  • 1 Russia
  • 2 Russia at borders
  • 3 Along The Trans-Siberian Railway
  • 4 Inside Russia
  • 5 Russian nature
  • 6 Crimea

  • russia russia


    Smolensk Smolensk

    also officially known as the Russian Federation is a sovereign state in northern Eurasia. It is a federal semi-presidential republic. Russia is the largest country in the world, covering more than one-eighth of the Earth's inhabited land area. Russia is the world's ninth most populous country . Geographical size: 17,125,200 km2 Population: over 144 million people (2015) Russians are an East Slavic ethnic group native to Russia, who speak the Russian language and primarily live in Russia. They are the most numerous ethnic group in Russia constituting more than 80% of the country's population according to the census of 2010, and the most numerous ethnic group in Europe. Russian_timezones Russian_federation * Federal Districts * North West. * Central. * Belgorod oblast. Bryansk oblast. Ivanovo oblast. Kaluga oblast. Kostroma oblast. Kursk oblast. Lipetsk oblast. Moskovskaya oblast. Orlovskaya oblast. Ryazan oblast. Smolensk oblast. Tambov oblast. Tula oblast. Tver oblast. Vladimir oblast. Voronezh oblast. ... * Volga. * South. * North Caucasus. * Ural. * Siberia.
    Leningrad Oblast
    is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast). It was established on August 1, 1927, although it was not until 1946 that the oblast's borders had been mostly settled in their present position. The oblast was named after the city of Leningrad (now St. Petersburg).