• Home
  • Geography home
  • Europe home
  • Geography - Nordic countries

    nordic countries


    Denmark Denmark is the smallest as well as the most southerly and
    most low-lying of the three Scandinavian countries and consists
    of the peninsula of Jutland and an archipelago of more than 400
    islands of which 72 are inhabited. Capital: Copenhagen Geographical size: 42 921 km² Population: 5 627 235 (2014)


    Norway, officially the Kingdom of Norway, is a sovereign and unitary monarchy whose territory comprises the western portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula plus the island Jan Mayen and the archipelago of Svalbard. Capital: Oslo Geographical size: 385,252 km2 Population: 5,109,059 people (2014)


    Finland Finland is one of the five Nordic countries and the northernmost country in the EU. Finland is one of the most sparsely-populated countries in the EU and is bordered by Sweden to the west, Norway to the north and Russia to the east. Capital: Helsinki Geographical size: 338 435 km2 Population: 5 451 270 (2014)


    Sweden has the largest population among the Nordic countries and is the third-largest country in the European Union by surface area. To the west, Sweden is separated from Norway by mountains and is connected to the south by a road and rail bridge to Denmark. Capital: Stockholm Geographical size: 438 574 km2 Population: 9 644 864 (2014)


    Iceland, also called the Republic of Iceland, is a Nordic island country between the North Atlantic and the Arctic Ocean. Capital: Reykjavík Geographical size: 103,000 km2 Population: 329,100