Netherlands Netherlands
The Netherlands
, is the main constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. It is a small, densely populated country located in Western Europe with three island territories in the Caribbean. Flood control is an important issue for the Netherlands, as about two thirds of its area is vulnerable to flooding, while the country is among the most densely populated on Earth. Amsterdam
is the capital and most populous municipality of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Its status as the capital is mandated by the Constitution of the Netherlands, although it is not the seat of the government, which is The Hague.
is a city in the Netherlands, located in South Holland, within the Rhine–Meuse–Scheldt river delta at the North Sea.
The Hague
is the seat of government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the capital city of the province of South Holland.
The Rhine
is a European river that begins in the Swiss canton of Graubünden in the southeastern Swiss Alps, forms part of the Swiss-Austrian, Swiss-Liechtenstein border, Swiss-German and then the Franco-German border, then flows through the Rhineland and eventually empties into the North Sea in the Netherlands.
The River IJssel
is the branch of the Rhine in the Dutch provinces of Gelderland and Overijssel.
The Wadden Sea
is an intertidal zone in the southeastern part of the North Sea.
is a shallow artificial lake of 1100 km² in the central Netherland.
The West Frisian Islands
are a chain of islands in the North Sea off the Dutch coast, along the edge of the Wadden Sea. They continue further east as the German East Frisian Islands and are part of the Frisian Islands. 564
The Vaalserberg
("Mount of Vaals") is a hill with a height of 322.7 metres (1,059 ft) above NAP and the highest point in mainland Netherlands.