• Home
  • Geography home
  • Europe home
  •       balkan
    The countries in the Balkan Peninsula:
    Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Macedonia, Romania, Bulgaria, Albania, Greece, The Balkan Peninsula and the Balkans is a peninsula and a cultural area in Southeast Europe with different and disputed borders. The region takes its name from the Balkan Mountains that stretch from the east of Serbia to the Black Sea at the east of Bulgaria. The Balkans meet the Adriatic Sea on the northwest, Ionian Sea on the southwest, the Mediterranean and Aegean Sea on the south and southeast, and the Black Sea on the east and northeast. The highest point of the Balkans is Mount Musala 2,925 metres (9,596 ft) on the Rila mountain range in Bulgaria.

    Countries - Capitals - Flags:

    Slovenia Slovenia - Ljubljana
    Croatia Croatia - Zagreb
    BosniaHerzegovina Bosnia - Sarajevo
    Serbia Serbia - Belgrade
    Romania - Bukarest
    Bulgaria Bulgaria - Sofia
    macedonia Macedonia - Skopje
    albania Albania - Tirana
    Kosovo Kosovo - Pristina
    Greece Greece - Athens
    Turkey Turkey - Ankara
    montenegro Montenegro - Podgorica