, officially the Republic of China, is a sovereign state in East Asia. Originally based in mainland China, the ROC has since 1945 governed the island of Taiwan, which constitutes more than 99% of its territory,[e] as well as Penghu, Kinmen, Matsu, and other minor islands. Taipei
, officially known as Taipei City, is the capital city and a special municipality of the Republic of China, commonly known as Taiwan. Sitting at the northern tip of Taiwan, Taipei City is an enclave of the municipality of New Taipei City. It is about 25 km (16 mi) southwest of the northern port city Keelung. Taichung
, officially known as Taichung City, is a special municipality located in center-western Taiwan. Taichung has a population of over 2.7 million people, making it the third largest city on the island after New Taipei City and Kaohsiung. Kaohsiung
Kaohsiung City
is a special municipality in Taiwan. Located in southern-western Taiwan and facing the Taiwan Strait, it is by area the largest municipality.

Taiwan mountains

(Jade Mountain, Mount Yu) 3,952 m (12,966 ft)
(Snow Mountain) 3,886 m (12,749 ft)