Republic of Iran
, also known as Persia officially the Islamic Republic of Iran is a sovereign state in Western Asia. Tehran
is the capital of Iran and Tehran Province. With a population of around 9 million in the city and 16 million in the wider metropolitan area.
is the second most populous city in Iran.
also Romanized as Esfahān historically also rendered in English as Ispahan, Sepahan, Esfahan or Hispahan, is the capital of Isfahan Province in Iran, located about 340 kilometres (211 miles) south of Tehran.
Lake Urmia
, along with its once approximately 102 islands, are protected as a national park by the Iranian Department of Environment.
The Strait of Hormuz
, is a strait between the Gulf of Oman and the Persian Gulf.
a river in N Iran, flowing northeast to a delta on the Caspian Sea. Length: about 785 km (490 miles).
The Zagros Mountains
form the largest mountain range in Iran, Iraq and Southeastern Turkey.
Mount Damāvand
, a potentially active volcano, is a stratovolcano which is the highest peak in Iran and the Middle East.